BLINK – BLINK


Blink..

Blink..

Blink…

Blink…

The message sent from overseas stares me down in the 3 AM haze.

The clock ticking by seconds, then minutes, the hours creeping up on me.

The words gripping at my heart and slowing its beat.

Blink..

Blink..

Blink..

Blink..

There is so much I want to say.

So much I want to do.

And I would do it all.

Blink..

Blink..

Blink..

Blink..

I would show my affection to my fullest extent..

I would hug him tight, hold his hand, calm his mind.

I would be the friend I wish I could be.

Blink..

Blink…

Blink…

Blink…

But I can’t.

For these miles are long and too many.

And I haven’t the ability to traverse them.

Blink…

Blink..

Blink…

Blink…

So here I am.

So here I stay.

So afraid.

Blink..

Blink..

Blink..

Blink..

With a calm front and an affinity for words.

I write my response.

In my eyes, lackluster, but the only option.

Blink..

Blink..

Blink..

Blink..

I send the response across the sea.
I try to calm my racing heart.

I do what I can to conceal my fear.

Blink…

Blink..

Blink…

Blink..

The next message comes through, calmer now.

My nerves begin to settle.

All is calm until the cycle repeats once again.

Blink..

Blink…

Blink…

Blink..

I trust you.

I believe in you.

I love you

Tinggalkan Balasan

