THE POET OF MY DREAM


We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology. This is a clear prescription for disaster. We have also arranged things so that almost no one understands science and technology. We might get away with it for a while, but sooner or later this combustible mixture of ignorance and power is going to blow up in our faces. It’s dangerous and stupid for us to remain ignorant about global warming, say, or ozone depletion, toxic and radioactive wastes, acid rain. Jobs and wages depend on science and technology. If the United States can’t manufacture, at high quality and low price, products people want to buy, then industries will drift out of the United States and transfer a little prosperity to another part of the world. Because of the low birthrate in the sixties and seventies, the National Science Foundation projects a shortage of nearly a million professional scientists and engineers by 2010. Where will they come from? What about fusion, supercomputers, abortion, massive reductions in strategic weapons, addiction, high-resolution television, airline and airport safety, food additives, animal rights, superconductivity, Midgetman vs. rail-garrison MX missiles, going to Mars, finding cures for AIDS and cancer? How can we decide national policy if we don’t understand the underlying issues?

I know that science and technology are not just cornucopias pouring good deeds out into the world. Scientists not only conceived nuclear weapons; they also took political leaders by the lapels, arguing that their nation—whichever it happened to be—had to have one first. Then they arranged to manufacture 60,000 of them. Our technology has produced thalidomide, CFCs, Agent Orange, nerve gas, and industries so powerful they can ruin the climate of the planet. There’s a reason people are nervous about science and technology.

And so the image of the mad scientist haunts our world—from Dr. Faust to Dr. Frankenstein to Dr. Strangelove to the white-coated loonies of Saturday morning children’s television. (All this doesn’t inspire budding scientists.) But there’s no way back. We can’t just conclude that science puts too much power into the hands of morally feeble technologists or corrupt, power-crazed politicians and decide to get rid of it. Advances in medicine and agriculture have saved more lives than have been lost in all the wars in history. Advances in transportation, communication, and entertainment have transformed the world. The sword of science is double-edged. Rather, its awesome power forces on all of us, including politicians, a new responsibility—more attention to the long-term consequences of technology, a global and transgenerational perspective, an incentive to avoid easy appeals to nationalism and chauvinism. Mistakes are becoming too expensive.

Science is much more than a body of knowledge. It is a way of thinking. This is central to its success. Science invites us to let the facts in, even when they don’t conform to our preconceptions. It counsels us to carry alternative hypotheses in our heads and see which ones best match the facts. It urges on us a fine balance between no-holds-barred openness to new ideas, however heretical, and the most rigorous skeptical scrutiny of everything—new ideas and established wisdom. We need wide appreciation of this kind of thinking. It works. It’s an essential tool for a democracy in an age of change. Our task is not just to train more scientists but also to deepen public understanding of science.

I wanna become scientist, cause the science brought me more consciousness, the more I know, the more I realize, how much that I don’t know, and I believe theres more have to learn, make me statifed, im statisfied cause I got a better understanding about the life, better understanding about reality, such kind, beside I love questioning everything, and I believe curiosity has its own reason for existing.

PERHAPS ONLY FEW OF US WHO IS BLIND IN LITTERACY BUT SO MANY OF US WHO STILL BLIND IN SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY WHEN WE LIFE IN ERA WHICH DEPENDS ON PROGRESS SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY, THAT WAS SO IRONICALLY.

I wanna become scientist in astronomy or astrophysics, i would like become astronom or astophysis cause I love to wacth horde of stars, when I watch em, I miss something the part of me, which is lay deep inside of me, its laying in the stars too, I believe the stars cointain the matter part of me, the rest of me, and I know it is true, We are part of this universe, We are in this universe and the universe is in us. Nitrogen in out DNA, calcium and phosporus, magnesium in our teeth, iron in our blood, carbon in our food, and in our backbone, pottasium and chlorine, sodium in our nerve.. WE ARE MADE IN THE INTERIORS OF COLLAPSING STAR, WE ARE MADE OF STAR STUFF.  that a reason why oxygen, nitro, carbon, calcium is existed in the earth, and become basic element for every creatures life, and become reason too, why every creatures was exsited and lived. and become the reason toom why we were exsited.

Cause every atom in my body came from a star that exploded, the atom on my right hand probably comes from a different star than the atom in my left hand.. im just star dust, I love the astrophysics or astronomy cause its make me realize that im not insignificant in universe. The huble space telescope estimates there are hundreds of billion of galaxies in the universe, so what makes us so special ? our sun just another star in a sea of stars.

We just spect, from another billion billion spect, the blue pale dot in the billion billion another dot. or one grain sand in middle desert of shara. The universe is absolutely massive and we are virtually insignificant in it, I’ve seen no evidence, the rest of the universe cares we exist or is even capable of caring, but I don’t really need validiation from the rest of the universe to find my own life important ?

I couldt be here if star handt exploded (the carbon, nitrogen, oxygen, that matter for evolution) the basic element for every the living things in the earth, is gained from exploded of the stars, collapsing stars.

This my story why I want to be a scientist in astrophysics or astronomy. One day when I was a kid, I wake up alone suddenly In the middle of the night, then im realize that I had been sleep on the balcony at the second floor since the afternoon, I was afraid at that time, im being alone but I start to look up, I watch them, I peer into the darkness, suddenly something strange happened to me, im not in afraid anymore, then realize, my eyes opened not in fear, but in wonder. How beauty the giltter of the stars. And how it sparkling ? 😀 (stars cannot shine without darkness)

Then I believe nothing in life is to be feared, its only to be understood, now is the time to understand more, so that I may fearless, and the science is the key of our future. And science teach me to accept the reality, with wonder and admiration, that’s why, I wanna become scientist. science love not knowing, mysterious things, and it will become puzzle to solving, the puzzles of the universe that make it so exciting. Now, it is true that we want to solve- resolve those and solve those puzzles, that’s part of the fun of doing science, is solving puzzles basically. But each time we do, new questions arise. And I think for many of us, just as in our lives, the searching is often much more profound than the finding. It’s the searching for answers through life in some sense that make life worth living- if we had all the answers we could just sit back and stare at navels. And I think what makes the search so exciting is that the answers are so surprising. this is more compelling than i thought, science is remarkble things, that i know..

I thought with being scientist, It fills me with joy to make discoveries everyday of things I had never seen before (atom-proton neutron electron and bacteria crawling in the water, or see star more closer) new experience that I would love to see them with my own eyes. I would do every that I could do, to become scientist, or at least, I will know that I will die trying for it.

Im just want to spending my brief time in the sun, to work at understanding the universe and how we have come to wake up in it, isn’t it sad to go to your grave without ever wondering why you were born?

That’s why I feel to eager to resume discovering the world and rejoicing to be a part of it?

I would thankful for this life, I’ve been granted, the opportunity to understand why our eyes are open, and why they see what they do, in the short time before they close forever.

THERES TOO MUCH TO LEARN, THERES TOO MUCH TO SEEM, THERES TOO MUCH TO KNOW, THERES TOO MUCH TO EXPERIENCE… IM NOT JUST GOING TO EXIST, BUT IM GOING TO LIVE..!!! FOR THE BEAUTY THAT CANNOT BE SEE

Tinggalkan komentar