Antonin Artaud


“Never tire yourself more than necessary, even if you have to found a culture on the fatigue of your bones.” 
― Antonin Artaud

“There is in every madman
a misunderstood genius
whose idea
shining in his head
frightened people
and for whom delirium was the only solution
to the strangulation
that life had prepared for him.” 
― Antonin Artaud

“I would like to write a Book which would drive men mad, which would be like an open door leading them where they would never have consented to go, in short, a door that opens onto reality.” 
― Antonin ArtaudSelected Writings

“If I commit suicide, it will not be to destroy myself, but to put myself back together again. Suicide will be for me only one means of violently reconquering myself, of brutally invading my being, of anticipating the unpredictable approaches of God. By suicide, I reintroduce my design in nature, I shall for the first time give things the shape of my will.” 
― Antonin Artaud

“I myself am an absolute abyss.” 
― Antonin Artaud

“For nothing bestializes a being like the taste for eternal happiness, the search for eternal happiness at any price, and mademoiselle Lucifer is that slut who never wanted to abandon eternal happiness.” 
― Antonin Artaud

“I, myself, spent 9 years in an insane asylum and never had any suicidal tendencies, but I know that every conversation I had with a psychiatrist during the morning visit made me long to hang myself because I was aware that I could not slit his throat.” 
― Antonin Artaud

“I cannot conceive any work of art as having a separate existence from life itself” 
― Antonin ArtaudThe Theater and Its Double

“Without sarcasm I sink into chaos.” 
― Antonin Artaud

“I call for actors burning at the stakes, laughing at the flames.” 
― Antonin ArtaudThe Theater and Its Double

“I prefer the people who eat off the bare earth the delirium from which they were born.” 
― Antonin Artaud

“This is why a tainted society has invented psychiatry to defend itself against the investigations of certain superior intellects whose faculties of divination would be troublesome.

No, van Gogh was not mad, but his paintings were bursts of Greek fire, atomic bombs, whose angle of vision would have been capable of seriously upsetting the spectral conformity of the
bourgeoisie.

In comparison with the lucidity of van Gogh, psychiatry is no better than a den of apes who are themselves obsessed and persecuted and who possess nothing to mitigate the most appalling states of anguish and human suffocation but a ridiculous terminology. To a man, this whole gang of pected scoundrels and patented quacks are all erotomaniacs.” 
― Antonin Artaud

“So society has strangled in its asylums all those it wanted to get rid of or protect itself from, because they refused to become its accomplices in certain great nastiness.” 
― Antonin Artaud

“In our present state of degeneration it is through the skin that metaphysics must be made to re-enter our minds.” 
― Antonin ArtaudThe Theater and Its Double

“[defines a madman as] a man who preferred to become mad,in the socially accepted sense of the word, rather than forfeit a certain superior idea of human honor.” 
― Antonin Artaud

“Not only are mortals rotten, the very atmosphere in which we live is materially and physically rotten, swarming with maggots, with obscene appearances, poisonous minds, and foul organisms.” 
― Antonin Artaud

“All true feeling is in reality untranslatable. To express it is to betray it. But to translate it is to dissimulate it.” 
― Antonin Artaud

Tinggalkan komentar