ETERNITY AND A DAY


Alexandre, are you coming? We’re going to the island. Where? To the island. We’re going to dive to see the ancient city. Later, we’ll go up to the rock and we’ll greet the passing boats. What do you know of the ancient city?

Grandfather says that happy city was swallowed by an earthquake and that it has slept under the sea for centuries. It comes out of the water once a month and for very a short time. When the morning star regrets to have to leave the Earth and stops and contemplates it. And all stops then. Time also stops.

Time… What is it? Grandfather says that time is a child, that plays dice on the shore. Are you coming then? Maybe it’s better, not to meet them and imagine them. Will it be a hermit like me? Or perhaps a little girl before leaving to school plays with the unknown neighbour.

All passed by so quickly! This suspect pain, my stubbornness to want to learn, to want to know, then the darkness. The silence around me. The silence.

All made me believe that before the end of winter, with the ethereal silhouettes of the boats, and their sudden breakthroughs in the sky, with the lovers along the promenade, in the declining sun, and the hypocritical promise of the spring, all made me believe that before the end of winter. I left all as a draft, shattered words here and there.

Mom often spoke to me of that day. “You were still sleeping when I woke up. I watched you breathe. Were you dreaming, Alexandre?. You moved your hand slightly as to look for me. Your eyelids blinked, then you dove back into sleep. A little tear came from your eye. it rolled, it travelled. From aside, the baby uttered a little moan. A door moved. I went to the veranda and cried.

I’m having strange dreams, in these days.

– Did you cry, Anna?

– That’s nothing.

You cried.

It’s nothing.

What’s wrong?

– Anna, you cried.

– It’s nothing.

I write to you, I speak to you. I feel so close to you, who feel threatened and resist me. Do you think that I threaten your world, Alexandre?

“Yet, I am only a woman in love.” Is the little one sleeping?

At night, I looked at you. I didn’t know if you were sleeping or quiet. I was afraid of what you could think, afraid of invading your silence. So I let my body speak, the only language I know – because only that way you don’t feel threatened. I am only a woman in love, Alexandre.

Little exiled bird and unhappy, a foreign country is happy to have you and I long for you. What can I send you, my little flower?

If I send you an apple, it’ll rot. If I send you a quince it’ll dry, a bunch of white grapes will lose its beads along the way. I’ll send you a tear in a…

What’s wrong? You’re trembling!

Hey! Sélim. What a pity you can’t be with us tonight. Hey, Sélim! I’m scared, Sélim. The sea is so big! What waits for us in the place where you’re going, Sélim?

What does the place, where we’ll all go look like? Mountains or ravines, police or soldiers, we never look back. All I can see is the sea, now, the endless sea. In the night I saw my mother in front of her door, in tears. It was Christmas. The bells rang. The snow fell on the mountain. If you only were here to speak to us again of all those ports, Marseille or Naples, of this vast world. Hey! Sélim, speak, speak to us, speaks of this vast world. Hey! Sélim, speak, speak to us…

One of your shirts forgotten, on the balcony trembles in the wind. Oh you, protected by the shadow of a room, kidnapped by the voices of the night. I look at you with closed eyes. I listen to you with sealed ears. With no mouth, I implore you.

We need new ways, Maria. New ways of speech. And if we can’t find them, none is better! I love you, I love you with all my heart but you lead an absurd life. You show off with that writer and yet I love you! But why do you leave while I’m speaking?

Trembling with dew, the last star before the dawn announced a radiant sun. No trace either of clouds or mist in the endless sky. The breath of the breeze was so soft to the face that it seemed to whisper to the petals of my heart,

I’m writing to you in front of the sea, again and again. I write to you, I speak to you. One day, when you remember this day, remember that I watched it with full eyes, that I caressed it with both hands. I am here waiting for you, trembling.

“Give me this day.” My passage to the other side, tonight, with words, I brought you back. You are there and all is true, and waiting for the truth. For the truth.

Tell me, mother, why can’t one learn to love?

I wanted to say goodbye. Are you leaving tonight? Are you going to leave in the dead of night? I thought. You made me think. You’re leaving as well. I won’t have anybody anymore. You will. You will go on a big journey soon, the ports are the whole world. Goodbye.

Stay with me!

You have 2 hours before the boat leaves.

I only have tonight.

Stay with me.

I’m scared!

I am scared as well.

Stay with me.

 

Tinggalkan komentar