BIG BLACK CAR – GEORGORY ALAN ISAKOV


You were a phonograph,

I was a kid I sat with an ear close, just listening

I was there when the rain tapped her way down you face

You were a miracle…

I was just holdin’ your space

Well time has a way of throwing it all in your face

The past, she is haunted, the future is laced

Heartbreak, ya know, drives a big black car

Swear I was in the back seat, just minding my own

And through the glass, the corn crows come like rain

They won’t stay, they won’t stay

For too long now

This could be all that we know…

Of love and all.

Well you were a dancer,

I was a rag

The song in my head, well was all that I had

Hope was a letter

I never could send

Love was a country we couldn’t defend.

And through the carnival we watch them go round and round

All we knew of home was just a sunset and some clowns

Well you were a magazine, I was a plane jane

Just walking the sidewalks all covered in rain

Love to just get into one of your stories Just me and all of my plane jane glory


To me personally this song is about the hardships of love. In this case, I see a relationship that was strong in the beginning and for whatever reason as time passed, one person fell out of love with the other. But they never told them, and that person found out with devastating heart break. And although they were hurt they still loved the other person but that person had moved on, found someone else, and left them to pick up the pieces. Because as good as love can be, it also has a dark side to it, and eventually all good things will end…sometimes with pain not worth the love itself. Maybe I’m wrong though, regardless it is a beautiful tune.


This song reminds me so vividly of The Ocean at the End of the Lane, and I don’t know why, but I’m happy about it. “Monsters come in all shapes and sizes. Some of them are things people are scared of. Some of them are things that look like things people used to be scared of a long time ago. Sometimes monsters are things people should be scared of, but they aren’t.”


“Hope was a letter I never could send Love was a country we couldn’t defend.”.

Detailing the life of a young man in a hopeless position where life has past him by and now, he has little of a future. Intertwined with a love song about how this man woos a beautiful woman threw romantic escapades. This song tells quite a story of life and love.

 

Tinggalkan komentar