O corner


one of my favorite lines of all time: and if you swear that there’s no truth and who cares, why do you say it like you’re right?

“Head full of pesticide” Amazing Scanner Darkly reference (Phillip K Dick) Interpret as you’d like but a big part of this song is about being lost and on drugs.

If you hate the taste of wine Why do you drink it ’til you’re blind? And if you swear that there’s no truth and who cares How come you say it like you’re right? Why are you scared to dream of God When it’s salvation that you want? You see stars that clear have been dead for years But the idea just lives on In our wheels that roll around As we move over the ground And all day it seems we’ve been in between The past and future town We are nowhere, and it’s now We are nowhere, and it’s now And like a ten minute dream in the passenger seat While the world was flying by I haven’t been gone very long But it feels like a lifetime I’ve been sleeping so strange at night Side effects they don’t advertise I’ve been sleeping so strange With a head full of pesticide I’ve got no plans and too much time I feel too restless to unwind I’m always lost in thought as I walk a block To my favorite neon sign Where the waitress looks concerned But she never says a word Just turns the jukebox on and we hum along And I smile back at her And my friend comes after work When the features start to blur She says these bars are filled with things that kill By now you probably should have learned Did you forget that yellow bird? How could you forget your yellow bird? She took a small silver wreath and pinned it on to me She said, “This one will bring you love” And I don’t know if it’s true But I keep it for good luck

“We are mortals, you and I. There is only my dying and your dying and nothing beyond. You will die and there is nothing beyond. I shall slowly disappear until my heart stops its soft padding against the lining of my chest. Until then, the drive to speak continues, incessantly. Until then, we carry on. After that, there is nothing.”

“I fell asleep with you still talking to me, you said you weren’t afraid to die”

Man, people will get a tattoo about anything. This song is literally about a homosexual cross dresser who got addicted to shooting up drugs, and then killed himself, just because you think the lyrics are cute, doesn’t mean you should get something on your skin about it for the rest of your life. Especially when some asshole like me would see it and call you out on it.
Are you sure you want to get that tattoo for your love? This song is not about romance. It is about a cross-dressing drug addict who committed suicide…
I fell asleep to you still talkin’ to me. You said you weren’t afraid to die.” “The end of paralysis. I was a statuette. Now I’m drunk as hell on a piano bench and when I press the keys, it all gets reversed. The sound of loneliness makes me happier.” My favorite lines in the song. This song still makes me cry when I listen to it. Conor Oberst accually put emotion behind the songs and makes others know how he feels. :’)
“Well, I don’t think that I ever loved you more Than when you turned away, when you slammed the door When you stole the car and drove towards Mexico And you wrote bad checks just to fill your arm I was young enough, I still believed in war” That right there defines a big part of my life.
If you walk away, I’ll walk away First tell me which road you will take I don’t want to risk our paths crossing some day So you walk that way, I’ll walk this way And the future hangs over our heads And it moves with each current event Until it falls all around like a cold steady rain Just stay in when it’s looking this way And the moon’s laying low in the sky Forcing everything metal to shine And the sidewalk holds diamonds like the jewelry store case They argue walk this way, now walk this way And Laura’s asleep in my bed As I’m leaving she wakes up and says I dreamed you were carried away on the crest of a wave Baby don’t go away, come here And there’s kids playing guns in the street And ones pointing his tree branch at me So I put my hands up I say enough is enough, If you walk away, I’ll walk away And he shot me dead I found a liquid cure From my landlocked blues It’ll pass away like a slow parade It’s leaving but I don’t know how soon And the world’s got me dizzy again You think after 22 years I’d be used to the spin And it only feels worse when I stay in one place So I’m always pacing around or walking away I keep drinking the ink from my pen And I’m balancing history books up on my head But it all boils down to one quotable phrase If you love something, give it away A good woman will pick you apart A box full of suggestions for your possible heart But you may be offended and you may be afraid But don’t walk away, don’t walk away We made love on the living room floor With the noise in background of a televised war And in the deafening pleasure I thought I heard someone say If we walk away, they’ll walk away But greed is a bottomless pit And our freedom’s a joke We’re just taking a piss And the whole world must watch the sad comic display If you’re still free start running away Cause we’re coming for you! I’ve grown tired of holding this post I feel more like a stranger each time I come home So I’m making a deal with the devils of faith Saying let me walk away, please You’ll be free child once you have died From the shackles of language and immeasurable time And then we can trade places, play musical grace Till then walk away, walk away So I’m up at dawn Putting on my shoes I just want to make a clean escape I’m leaving but I don’t know where to I know I’m leaving but I don’t know where to
I spent all of my life moving to different countries, and for people like me we get a kind of chronic restlessness. Nowhere feels like home, and no matter how good things are wherever I’m living, I’ll periodically get these overwhelming feelings of being trapped and alone, and desperately wanting to jump on a plane and start over again in another country. This is the only song that’s ever been able to communicate exactly the internal struggle. So I’m up at dawn, puttin on my shoes. I just wanna make a clean escape. I’m leavin, but I dunno where to
 

Tinggalkan komentar